Bhumika Desai Shah

Menstruation, Periods aka SIN ?

In commuter's rage.., social Issue, Uncategorized on September 13, 2013 at 7:51 am

10th September,2013 – it was “Rushi Panchmi”.

Ours is a land of miracles, festivals and Vrat-Kathas. Rushi Panchmi is also popularly called Sama Pancham, as on this day women keep fast and are allowed to eat only SAMO.

“have you kept Fast today?”- I always face this question on rushi panchmi.

“No, I don’t as I don’t believe in it.”- I try to reply always politely!

and then all eyes of surrounding humans stare me like I am virgin even after 9 years of wedding!

WTF! { Sorry, But that’s exact feel I always get at that moment!}

I do respect everyone’s religious views.  But at the same time, I put up my point also strongly.

So here is my point today– If I know the concept or Idea behind celebrating/following some ritual is scientifically and socially wrong, why I should follow it?

– Just to show respect to religion or elders religious beliefs?

My answer is – NO, NEVER.

When I know I am RIGHT, I will hold on my point firmly. So here is my little try to justify why I don’t believe in fasting on Rushi Panchmi.

Like all other Indian festivals, Rushi Panchmi is also associated with a Katha-Vrat. Surprisingly this VRAT says-

According the scriptures and Hindu beliefs, the girl on the first day of menstruation is Chandalini (demon). On the second day she is considered as Bhramdhatini, a witch. On the third day, the girl is a washer woman and on the fourth or the final day after performing bath, she becomes purified.

doesn’t that sound RIDICULOUS ?

A girl, in her Periods, as performs normal day to day chores, is said to be performing SIN. And to wash off these SINs, she should observe a fast on Rushi Panchami.

The whole process of  being in PERIODS, gives female a divine power to give birth! How that fundamental, god made process can be so sinful and painful?

Following link narrates whole religious Katha stating the inhuman and disgusting concept.

http://hindupad.com/vratas-pujas/rishi-panchami-vrat-katha-rajasvala-vrata-katha-of-rushi-panchami/

So, Whats your view and stand?

 

– don’t forget to share it in comment! 

 

  1. If I know the concept or Idea behind celebrating/following some ritual is scientifically and socially wrong, why I should follow it?

    – Just to show respect to religion or elders religious beliefs?

    My answer is – NO, NEVER.

    I totally agree.

    and about menstruation I know that girl can’t go to temple during this period and I always wonder why?(didn’t know about the scriptures and Hindu beliefs) instead of understanding how much pain she is bearing we call her demon and all… RIDICULOUS…

    Like

  2. Wow.. What a different blog… You are covering abuses, harassment, woman empowerment, society’s superstitious nature… And 1,356 followers :)…

    Education is key thing which our society needed most. As per Bhagavad Gita, “Knowledge is the king of education, the most secret of all secrets”… Lots of people doesn’t even know how menstruation is associated with ovarian count and generation of new life and their lack of knowledge makes them superstitious…

    Hope, one day people will understand scientific purpose of menstruation instead of believing in wrong ideology.

    Like

Comments are Motivation :)

